US President Barack Obama to present National Medals on 22 January

The National Medal of Science is an honor conferred by the US President to recognize those scientists who have made important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the fields of physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, engineering and behavioral and social sciences. The first National Medal of Science was awarded to Theodore von Kármán for his work at the Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory by the then President John F. Kennedy in the year 1963. Since these awards are presented on annual basis, President Barack Obama will award the prestigious National Medal of Science to an India-American scientist Dr. Rakesh Jain. Dr Jain is one of the 17 scientists, engineers, mathematicians and innovators who will be presented the award at a White House ceremony to be held on 22 January.

national medal of science
US President Barack Obama will honor eminent scientists with National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation on 22 January

The official list was announced on 22 December. In the words of President Barack Obama, “Science and technology are fundamental to solving some of our Nation’s biggest challenges. The knowledge produced by these Americans today will carry our country’s legacy of innovation forward and continue to help countless others around the world. Their work is a testament to American ingenuity.”

Read here : Barack Obama at White House Astronomy Night

Dr Jain, one of the recipient of the award, is an IIT-Kanpur alumnus and is currently working as a professor of tumor biology at Massachusetts General Hospital in the Harvard Medical College. He has been conferred with more than 75 awards for his work in tumor biology, particularly research on the link between tumor blood vessels and improving the effects of chemotherapy and radiation treatment.

Dr Jain has also served as a mentor to more than 200 masters, doctoral and postdoctoral students. He is also a member of all the three branches of the US National Academies (National Academy of Medicine, National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Sciences) along with the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Also read : Indian Scientist CNR Rao honored with Japan’s Highest Civilian Award

Here is the complete list of recipients of awards :

National Medal of Science

  • Dr. Armand Paul Alivisatos, University of California and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, CA
  • Dr. Michael Artin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA
  • Dr. Albert Bandura, Stanford University, CA
  • Dr. Stanley Falkow, Stanford University School of Medicine, CA
  • Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY
  • Dr. Rakesh K. Jain, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital, MA
  • Dr. Mary-Claire King, University of Washington, WA
  • Dr. Simon Levin, Princeton University, NJ
  • Dr. Geraldine Richmond, University of Oregon, OR

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

  • Dr. Joseph DeSimone, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University, and Carbon3D, CA
  • Dr. Robert Fischell, University of Maryland at College Park, MD
  • Dr. Arthur Gossard, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA
  • Dr. Nancy Ho, Green Tech America, Inc. and Purdue University, IN
  • Dr. Chenming Hu, University of California, Berkeley, CA
  • Dr. Mark Humayun, University of Southern California, CA
  • Dr. Cato T. Laurencin, University of Connecticut, CT
  • Dr. Jonathan Rothberg, 4catalyzer Corporation and Yale School of Medicine, CT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *