Non-fiction writer Alexievich wins Nobel Prize in Literature 2015

For the year 2015 The Nobel Prize in Literature 2015 is awarded to 67-year old Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich “for her polyphonic writings” which the Academy referred as “a monument to suffering and courage in our time”. The laureates are selected by the Swedish Academy. Ms. Alexievich is the 14th women literature laureate and one of the first whose work is mainly nonfiction.

Nobel Prize in Literature medal
Nobel Prize in Literature medal

Sara Danius, permanent secretary of the Swedish Academy, said she had created “a history of emotions a history of the soul, if you wish.” Further Danius added, “She transcends the format of journalism and has developed a new literary genre that bears her trademark.”

Danius while further appreciating her said, “She’s devised a new kind of literary genre. It’s a true achievement not only in material but also in form.”

Ms. Alexievich a Belarussian journalist and prose writer used her journalism skills to create deeply researched works on the great tragedies of Soviet Union and its collapse – World War II, the Soviet war in Afghanistan, the 1986 Chernobyl nuclear disaster and the suicides that ensued from the death of communism.

Talking about the earlier life, she is the daughter of two village school teachers. She did her studies in journalism from Belarus, which at that time was a part of the Soviet Union. Presently she resides in Minsk, the capital of Belarus. Likewise many intellectuals, she also supports the political opponents of authoritarian President Alexander Lukashenko.

Nobel Prize in Literature is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in the year 1895. The other four are : Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Nobel Prize in Physics, Nobel Peace Prize and Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. Nobel Prize in Literature is being given since the year 1901. The award is given every year to an author irrespective of the country who has, in the words of the will of Alfred Nobel, produced “in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction”.

For the year 2015, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine went to scientists from Japan, the U.S. and China who discovered drugs to fight malaria and other tropical diseases. Nobel Prize in Physics has been conferred to the scientists of Japan and Canada for discovering tiny particles called neutrinos having mass.

The remaining ones i.e. Nobel Peace Prize and The Economics award will be announced on October 10, 2015 and October 12, 2015 respectively.

Nomination Procedure

Every year the Swedish Academy invites applications from the candidates. The last date scheduled for the proposals to be submitted remains same every year i.e. 1 February. Members of the Academy, members of literature academies and societies, professors of literature and language, former Nobel literature laureates and the presidents of writers’ organizations are all allowed to select the candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *