Mamata Banerjee Takes Charge As Chief Minister for Second Consecutive Term

mamata banerjee takes oath as chief minister of west bengal

Trinamool Chief Mamta Banerjee took oath as the Chief Minister of West Bengal this Friday for the second consecutive term. She took oath along with 41 MLAs as ministers in the new cabinet in the state assembly.
The swearing-in ceremony took place outside the Raj Bhavan as for the first time, the ceremony was open to common people.

Mamta Banerjee met Governor KN Tripathi on Thursday and submitted the list of all MLAs for swearing-in ceremony. Ahead of the ceremony, Banerjee said, “Apart from the seats allotted to the card holders, seating arrangement has been done for the general people who are willing to attend the programme. They do not need any cards to attend the programme as we have dedicated this swearing-in ceremony for the common people.”

The 42 member ministry includes 17 new faces like that of Kolkata Mayor Shovan Chateerje, former Indian Cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla and singer Indranil Sen. Besides these three, some of the other new faces are Abani Mohan Joarder, Abdur Mollah, Suvendu Adhikari, Rabindranath Ghosh, Asima Patra, Tapan Dasgupta, B Hansda, Churamani Mahato, Sandhya Rani.

After meeting governor, she said, “I have submitted the list to the honourable Governor. Along with me, altogether 42 of us will take oath tomorrow at the swearing-in ceremony. There has been representation from all districts (except Malda), caste, religion and creed. In Malda we don’t have any representation. Out of the 42 there are a few new faces. The rest are the same.”

Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Civil Aviation Minister Ashok G Raju and Minister of State for Urban Development Babul Supriyo represented Centre in the ceremony while other prominent figures included Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, former captain of Indian Cricket Team Sourav Ganguly and actor Rituparna Sengupta. Former Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir Farooq Abdullah, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar and RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav also arrived to the ceremony for congratulating Mamata Banerjee.

Tags from the story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *