BJP and BDJS to contest Kerala Elections together, candidates’ list to be out in 10 days

Bharat Dharma Jana Sena and BJP recently formed an agreement for sharing seats in the elections that are taking place on May 16. The newly formed party will contest 37 of the 140 seats at stake. The decision was taken at a recent meeting held in Thiruvananthapuram, after which both the parties arrived at a consensus. In another news, ex-cricketer Sreesanth has been approached by BJP to contest elections from Thrippunithura seat in Ernakulam district.

kerala elections 16 may 2016
BDJS and BJP leaders during the talks

According to the agreement that they formed, BDJS floated by Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana Yogam (SNDP), would contest 37 seats. This was told by the BJP state President Kummanam Rajasekharan and BDJS President Thushar Vellappally in the recently held joint conference.

BJP State President Kummanam Rajasekharan said, “Both parties agreed to face the coming polls together. We expect to complete the seat sharing and finalization of the list of candidates in the next ten days.”

Thushar Vellappally is the son of Vellappally Natesan, who is also the General Secretary of SNDP. He said that there was no confusion as to in terms of both the parties coming up together and also said that he is in full support with such parties who work for the justice of all the people. Thushar Vellappally also informed that he would not contest the polls.

Mr. Rajasekharan said that they already have a tie-up in West Bengal and nothing prevented from coming together in Kerala. He further added that actor Suresh Gopi has said that though he would not be contesting elections, but he surely would be a part of the star campaigns for NDA. He also mentioned that the NDA’s first meeting will be held in the first week of the next month and before that they will also be announcing the names of the candidate partners before that.

Besides these two parties, former Union Minister PC Thomas is also a part of the NDA in the state. The vote share of BJP has increased significantly from 6% to 15% in past elections.

Tags from the story
, , ,