JNU Row : Varsity issues show-cause notice to 21 Students, names yet to be revelaed

jnu afzal guru event
Students protesting against the sedition charges on Kanhaiya Kumar and other JNU students. Image

The inquiry panel formed by Jawaharlal Nehru University administration submitted its final report after investigating the happenings of 9 February event on the JNU campus. 21 students have been found guilty of violating rules and norms and show-cause notice has been issued to all the listed students. JNU Vice-Chancellor M Jagadesh Kumar took the decision after discussing the inquiry report forwarded by five-member panel with the top administration. An event was organized on the JNU campus against hanging of Afzal Guru during which anti-national slogans were allegedly raised.

A statement was issued by JNU administration after the meeting which explained that the university is acting as per its rules and norms and no guilty student will be spared. The statement reads, “The high-level inquiry committee constituted by the Vice-Chancellor to inquire into the incident on February 9 on the JNU campus has submitted a unanimous report, as per which some students have been found to have violated the university’s rules and norms. There are standards and provisions in the university rules to take action in such cases. The high-level inquiry committee’s recommendations are based on the rules of discipline and proper conduct in the JNU.”

The statement adds, “The Vice-Chancellor has apprised the dean’s committee of the summary of the inquiry committee recommendations. The office of the Chief Proctor will take further action by issuing show cause notices to the students found violating rules and norms of the university.”

The university issued show-cause notice to 21 students and they have been given time till 16 March to respond. Final decision would be taken on the basis of the responses from students.

So far, the names of these students have not been revealed, however the sources revealed that the list include eight students including JNUSU President Kanhaiya Kumar who were debarred earlier.

The JNU administration had constituted a three-member high level enquiry committee comprising of Professor Rakesh Bhatnagar, Professor Himadri Bohidar and Professor Suman K. Dhar which submitted its preliminary report on 12 February, two more members were added in the committee later. The report recommended to debar eight students (JNUSU President Kanhaiya Kumar, Umar Khalid, Anirban Bhattacharya, Ashutosh, Rama Naga, Anant Kumar, Shweta Raj and Aishwarya Adhikari) from academic activities which was accepted by the V-C.

On 11 March, the University revoked academic suspension of eight students after the committee submitted its report to authorities. However, registrar Bupinder Zutshi clarified that these students were not been given clean chit.

Also read : After JNU, slogans raised in Jadavpur University