Jayalalithaa and 28 cabinet ministers sworn in today; departments distributed

The general secretary of AIADMK and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa along with her 28 cabinet ministers sworn in by Governor K Rosaiah earlier today. The ceremony took place at the Madras University’s Centenary Hall. She sworn in as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for a second consecutive tenure, including her confidant O Panneerselvam on May 23. Few other ministers also took oath in the same ceremony held.

Jayalalithaa, on Saturday had called Governor K Rosaiah at the Raj Bhavan and also submitted a letter informing him of herself as the leader of AIADMK. According to an official at Raj Bhavan, “ Jayalalithaa furnished a list of persons to be appointed ministers in her cabinet which was approved by Governor Rosaiah”.

She also presented to him a list of ministers, which was released on Saturday evening. There were 13 new names in the list and besides that 4 women were also a part of the list, including Jayalalithaa, who will handle the different portfolios like Public, Police, General Administration and Home.

Some of the ministers who will handle different portfolios are :

  • Panneerselvam- Minister of Finance, Personnel and Administrative Reforms;
  • MP Dindigul C Srinivasan- Minister for Forests
  • P Thangamani- Electricity
  • SP Velumani- Municipal Administration and Rural Development
  • Edappadi K Palaniswami- Public Works and Highways and Minor Ports
  • KT Rajenthra Bhalaji- Rural Industries
  • RB Udhayakumar- Revenue
  • SP Shanmuganathan- Milk and Dairy Development
  • KC Veeramani- Commercial Taxes

P Benjamin, Deputy Mayor of Chennai Corporation, has been named Minister for School Education and Sports and Youth Welfare. MR Vijayabaskar will be transport minister. Edappadi K Palaniswami will be handling public works along with portfolios of Highway and Minor Ports. Sellur K Raju will hold corporation and labour. R Ramaraj will hand food department.

According to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretary AMP Jamaludeen, S Semmalai is appointed as the pro-term speaker.

Right after the oath ceremony was over, Jayalalithaa resumed charge of the CM office and in a bold move, cut down opening hours of the liquor shops by 2 hours, also shutting down 500 TASMAC shops.

According to an official, the Chief Minister also signed on a file which will provide 100 free units of electricity to all households with immediate effect. This move is estimated to cost the state government a whopping Rs 1607 crore, the official said.

Tags from the story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *