IISER TVM gets permanent campus, first phase inaugurated by Smriti Irani

The first phase of permanent campus of the Indian Institute of Science Education & Research (IISER) at Vithura in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala has been inaugurated by Union Human Resource Development Minister Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani. Other Dignitaries present on the occasion included Kerala Chief Minister, Shri Oommen Chandy, Shri A. Sampath MP, Shri K.S. Sabarinathan MLA, Secretary, Human Resource Development Ministry, Shri Vinay Sheel Oberoi and Dr. Tessy Thomas, Chairperson, Board of Governors, IISER.

iiser trivandrum vithura campus
Three buildings have been inaugurated in first phase, the construction would be completed by next year. Image


IISERs are a group of most renowned statutory science education and research institutes in India. They are considered to be the IITs of basic sciences. At present, there are six IISERs namely IISER Kolkata (West Bengal), IISER Pune (Maharashtra), IISER Mohali (Punjab), IISER Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh), IISER Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala) and IISER Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh).

In the newly inaugurated first phase of the campus there are three buildings namely, chemical science block, hostel and a central dining hall. In the upcoming 15 moths, blocks for physics and biology and additional hostel facility for 500 students will be constructed.

Address by the Hon’ble Union HRD Minister

Union Minister said the Department of Higher Education will permit the new IISER Centre to recruit five foreign faculties as part of improving research and international exposure in the interest of the students as a part of the new Global Initiative of Academic Network (GIAN).

Smt. Smriti Irani also laid emphasis on the fact that the future endeavor of science research institutions must give more opportunities to women, dalits and those from economically backward sections to excel themselves.

Read here : New IISER to come up at Berhampur, Odisha

Tags from the story
, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *