Former IAS Alka Sirohi To Take Charge As UPSC Chairperson From September 21

Alka Sirohi UPSC ChairmanThe post of chairman of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) fell vacant on September 21, consequent upon demitting of office by Gupta on attaining 65 years of age of superannuation. For time being, in place of Deepak Gupta, former IAS Officer Alka Sirohi has been appointed as chairwoman of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). She is presently a member in the Commission. As per the notification issued by the Department of Personnel and Training, President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Sirohi to perform the duties of the post of the chairman, UPSC, with effect from September 21. She has been appointed till further orders are issued or till completion of her term as member on January 3, 2017, whichever is earlier.

Incidentally, the Centre had in November 2014 appointed Deepak Gupta as the UPSC chief, breaking away from the tradition of appointing the chief from the serving members of the commission. When in the year 2014, the center first time appointed somebody from outside as the chairman of UPSC, at that time Sirohi was the senior most members and could have been the chairman.

Sirohi was sworn in as Member of UPSC in January 2012, after a long and successful career in the Indian Administrative Service (IAS). Sirohi is a retired IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre. Before joining the Commission as a member in January 2012, she was Secretary, Department of Personnel and Training.

Other members of the commission includes: Academicians David R Syiemlieh, Prof Hem Chandra Gupta and Pradeep Kumar Joshi, former Delhi Police Commissioner Bhim Sain Bassi, former Railway Board Chairman Vinay Mittal, former IAS officer Chhatar Singh and the then in-charge of Aviation and Research Centre of external snooping agency RAW, Arvind Saxena.

The Union Public Service Commission is India’s central agency authorized to conduct the Civil Services Examination, Indian Forest Service examination, Engineering Services Examination, Combined Defence Services Examination, National Defence Academy Examination, Naval Academy Examination, Combined Medical Services Examination, Special Class Railway Apprentice, Indian Economic Service/Indian Statistical Service Examination, Combined Geo-Scientist and Geologist Examination, and Central Armed Police Forces (Assistant Commandant) Examination. The Commission is headed by a chairman and can have a maximum of 10 members.

Tags from the story
, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *