Five tribal villages to be developed by Central University of Orissa

Central University of Orissa, situated in Koraput has adopted five villages near its campus. It was well known that central government had launched an initiative by the name ‘Unnat Bharat Abhiyan’, and the main objective of this initiative is regarding the upliftment of rural India. The initiative was launched in association with IITs, NITs and other well known government engineering institutes.

central university of orissa adopts 5 villages
Dignitaries speaking on the occasion

It must be noted that Professor Sachidananda Mohanty, Vice-chancellor of the university inaugurated the Unnat Bharat Abhiyan initiative of the university at Chikapar village of Sunabeda. Prof Mohanty expressed his opinion that development of the villages should begin from the local villages as is is said that charity begins at home. Five villages – Chikapar, Rajpalama, Chakarliput, Balda and Nuaguda have been adopted by the Central University of Orissa.

The local area development of the villages is the need of the hour and education, health, adult literacy, sanitation along with skill development of the rural masses would be the prime areas of concern. Field work for the survey of villages would be undertaken by the central university. Recently E- Vidyavahini bus was also launched For promoting computer literacy in rural areas of Haryana.

It was brought out that the activities for educational and computer literacy programmes would be held for the students of these villages. Selected students of the villages would be trained for many competitive examinations apart English and Mathematics coaching.

Also read : Grama Jyothi scheme launched by Telangana government

It must be noted that the programme was presided over by Mr Jayantha Kumar Nayak, a nodal officer of Unnat Bharat Abhiyan Cell. Other members present on the occasion were Local MLA Mr Raghuram Padal, Subhasree Malik, Chairperson of Sunabeda Municipality, Mr Alok Rajan Samantroy, Executive Officer of Sunabeda Municipality, Dr P.C. Mohapatra, Director of COATS, Dr Jagabandhu Samal, an educationist, Mr Rabi Pamia, Chikapar Janjiban Vikash Parishad Secretary and Project Officer Ram Naik.

Colonal R. S. Chauhan, Registrar of Central University of Orissa addressed people present on the occasion and vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Kapila Khemundu. Villagers of the five adapted villages, students, faculty staffs, Staffs of Central University were present in huge numbers on the occasion along with Dr Phagunath Bhoi, Public Relations Officer of the university.

Central University of Orissa was established in the year 2009 under Central Universities Act 2009. It is situated near the famous Hindustan Aeronauticals Limited, HAL. The central library of this university has around 17500 plus books apart from other journals, magazines, theses, reports etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *