Delhi affirms its faith in Kejriwal

AAP emerged as biggest winner in the by-elections of Delhi civic bodies
AAP emerged as biggest winner in the by-elections of Delhi civic bodies by grabbing 5 out of 13 seats

The results of by-elections for 13 seats of Delhi Municipal Corporation (MCD) announced on Tuesday brought joy to both Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The corporation has been under the hood of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for nearly 14 years now, but the party suffered huge setback as it could only manage to grab 3 seats in by-elections. Congress, which had lost each seat in previous Assembly and Lok Sabha elections, made a much needed re-entry by winning 4 seats. One Congress rebel Rajender Singh Tanwar won a seat and is expected to join Congress again. Delhi Congress President Ajay Maken boasted about the performance of his party in the by-elections and said, “It is a big victory for us.”

On the other hand making its debut in the civil bodies’ poll, AAP emerged as the biggest winner by grabbing 5 out of total 13 seats. The by-elections were termed as a crucial test for Aam Aadmi Party which had won 67 seats in 70-seats Delhi Assembly in elections held in 2015. AAP National Convenor and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal expressed satisfaction after the announcement of results and said that the next target for the party is to do a ‘clean sweep’ in the civil bodies’ elections to be held next year.

The seats for which by-elections were conducted are – Matiala, Tehkhand, Nanakpura, Vikas Nagar, Ballimaran, Bhati, Quamaruddin Nagar, Munirka, Khichripur, Jhilmil, Wazirpur, Nawada and Shalimar Bagh (North).

The 272 seats Delhi Municipal Corporation is divided into three smaller corporations, namely, North Delhi Municipal Corporation (104 seats), South Delhi Municipal Corporation (104 seats) and East Delhi Municipal Corporation (64 seats). The by-elections were held for 7 seats under SDMC, 4 under NDMC and 2 under EDMC.

BJP managed to get only 3 seats in the by-elections, but amassed maximum vote share. BJP claimed that the low vote share of AAP proves that people of Delhi have rejected AAP’s politics of ‘lies and arrogance’. Total 6,68,870 voters were eligible for the by-elections polls, but the voting percentage was just 45.9. Out of the total votes, BJP got 34.11 percent votes, the highest, while AAP could manage to get 29.93 percent votes. Congress grabbed 24.87 percent votes, sharing the third position as per vote share, while independent candidates garnered 9.53 percent votes.

AAP’s Delhi unit convenor Dilip K. Pandey said it was a spectacular start for the party in its debut to the civil bodies and affirmed that the party would win all 272 seats in the next elections. He said, “The credit for our success goes to our volunteers. I thank the people of Delhi for showing faith in us. These by-elections are a launchpad for us and we had a remarkable experience.”

Journalist turned politican Ashish Khetan hitted out at BJP for corrupt malpractices and said Delhi people have completely rejected BJP. Ashish was appointed as the vice-chairman of Delhi Dialogue Commission in 2015.

What will happen in the next elections is yet to witness, but the by-elections have ranged the bell for sure. BJP should get to consider its weakness, while Congress and AAP have a lot to claim for.

Tags from the story
, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *