AFCAT 2017 exam on Sunday in 62 cities

Update at 6.30 pm; August 26, 2017: AFCAT Exam would be conducted as planned. Those affected should send email to AFCAT centre for further course of action. This is as informed by AFCAT Center.

All the candidates who aspire to pursue  a career in Indian Air Force and have filled the application for Indian Air Force Common Admission Test – AFCAT 2017 are just two days away from the day they will be taking the test. AFCAT 2 2017 will be held on 27th August at multiple test centers in 62 cities across the Country.

AFCAT is conducted every year by Indian Air Force for the grant of Short Service Commission in Flying Branch and Permanent/ Short Service Commission in Ground Duty (Non-technical branches). The applications for second AFCAT 2017 exam were submitted from June 3 to 29. The admit card for the exam has been released in accordance with the notice issued earlier on the official website. Those who have not get their admit card yet, head over to and download it.

The candidates must reach the examination centre on time along with their admit cards and a valid photo identity card such as passport, driving license, voter identity card, college identity card or other photo identity proof. To avoid any inconvenience in the examination centre, the candidates are advised not to bring any gadgets such as calculators, mobile phones etc.

The AFCAT will be conducted for 2 hour duration, consisting of multiple type questions on topics such as General Awareness, Verbal Ability in English, Numerical Ability, Reasoning and Military Aptitude Test. Another test -Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT) will be conducted immediately after AFCAT and would be for 45 minutes duration. The candidates who have opted for ground duty (technical) branch are required to pass both AFCAT & EKT.

Those candidates declared qualified in the AFCAT Exam will be called for further testing at one of the Air Force Selection Boards at Dehradun, Mysore, Gandhinagar, or Varanasi. Flying branch candidates can opt from Dehradun, Mysore and Varanasi.

The testing procedure is further divided into 3 stages:

  1. Stage 1: All the qualified candidates will undergo Stage 1 test, that includes document verification, Officer Intelligence Rating Test, picture perception and discussion test. Only the candidates who will qualify the stage 1 test and meet the eligibility requirement, will appear in the next stage.
  2. Stage II: Candidates will participate in group test, psychological Test, and Interview process, which will conduct for the next five days.
  3. For flying Branch: Computerized Pilot Selection System (CPSS) would be administered to recommended candidates only. This is once in a lifetime test. Candidates who have failed the CPSS/PABT in an earlier attempt or a Flight Cadet suspended from flying training at Air Force Academy will not be eligible to apply.

To resolve any query or doubt regarding the exam, the candidates can contact AFCAT Cell on Toll free number 1800-11-2448 or Phone No 011-26160459.

Tags from the story
, ,


  • My afcat exam was in sirsa and there was curfew so i could not reach there . And internet , bus and train services were also affected . So now tell us what can we do ???

  • sir i am from ambala…due to riots there was no mode of transport to reach afcat i knew today that candidates not able to give exam due to curfues and other probs,had to inform afcat cell but in my vilage internet service was unavailable at 23 aug evening…. till today so i could not is there any notification to give exam….

    • Kindly contact AFCAT center explaining the events. Anything concrete can only be informed by AFCAT center. You were not at fault on the exam day, so just put your query.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *