6 out of 10 Bihar Universities have full-time VCs now

Three more universities in Bihar got their Vice-chancellors after a wait of so much long time. Governor and Chancellor of Universities of Bihar, Ram Nath Kovind made the appointments soon after State Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and education minister Ashok Choudhary met the chancellor for consultation in the working of the universities.

Qamar Ahsan, present vice-chancellor of Sido Kanhu Murmu University, Dumka (Jharkhand), has been given the charge of Bodh Gaya-based Magadh University. His term in Sido Kanhu Murmu University is to end in April. Ahsan had earlier served as VC of Mazharul Haque Arabic and Persian University, Patna. His parent organization is AN College, Patna, a premier college under Magadh University.

S K Singh of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) has been appointed the V-C of Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Darbhanga. At present, Singh is chief proctor at BHU and professor and dean, faculty of management studies.

Nalini Kant Jha has been made the VC of Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University. She is a professor and director, Southern Asia Studies, School of Social Sciences & International Studies, Pondicherry University, Puducherry.

Earlier in the month of January, Harikesh Singh, a senior professor from Banaras Hindu University (BHU), was appointed the new VC of Jaya Prakash University (JPU), Chapra. On the other hand, Syed Mumtazuddin was named the VC of Veer Kunwar Singh University (VKSU), Ara. With these appointments, six of the 10 universities in the state will now have regular vice chancellors.

Acting on SC order, it was in 2014 that the VCs were appointed through search committees for the first time in Bihar. The apex court had in 2013 quashed appointments of all VCs and pro-VCs made during the tenure of former governor Devanand Konwar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *